Randy Rogers Band, Turnpike Troubadours win big

By Richard Skanse

(LSM May/June 2011/vol. 4 – Issue 3)

Hayes Carll (Photo by Steve Circeo)

Hayes Carll (Photo by Steve Circeo)

Call us a little biased, but the third-annual Lone Star Music Awards, held March 27 in San Marcos, Texas, proved to be our best yet. More than 600 people packed the newly opened Texas Music Theater to honor winners like Ray Wylie Hubbard and the Turnpike Troubadours and enjoy live performances by Austin Collins, Lincoln Durham, Max Stalling, the Trishas, Hayes Carll, and surprise guests Randy Rogers and Brady Black. Thanks to everyone who made it out, the fine folks at the Texas Music Theater, and all of our sponsors: Southern Thread; Cavender’s Boot City; Arriba Foods; CD Tex; Gibson; and KNBT. See y’all next year!

2011 LSM Award Winners:

Best Album:
Turnpike Troubadours, Diamonds and Gasoline

RandY Rogers & Brady Black (Photo by Martin Patterson)

RandY Rogers & Brady Black (Photo by Martin Patterson)

Best Song:
“Interstate,” Randy Rogers Band (written by Randy Rogers and Sean McConnell)

Best Live Act:
Randy Rogers Band

Songwriter of the Year:
Ray Wylie Hubbard

Best Male Vocal:
Randy Rogers

The Trishas (Photo by Steve Circeo)

The Trishas (Photo by Steve Circeo)

Best Female Vocal:
The Trishas

Musician of the Year:
Brady Black (fiddle), Randy Rogers Band

Best Emerging Artist:
Turnpike Troubadours

Best Live Music Venue:
Gruene Hall

Best Album Artwork:
Mike McClure Band, Halfway Out of the Woods
(Javia Garcia, artist)